Skip to main content
Klef bills a flat monthly or annual fee per workspace. To change any of it, see Manage billing.

Tiers

You pay for a subscription tier on either a monthly or annual basis. The invoice is generated and due at the start of each period, and the subscription renews automatically at the end of each period. AI credits are allotted monthly, regardless of the billing period. For exact pricing details, see the pricing page.

Changing Tiers or Billing Periods

If you change tiers or billing periods mid-cycle, Stripe invoices you immediately, and the changes will take effect once that invoice is paid. In either case, the amount due is reduced by a prorated credit for the unused time you have already paid for. As an example, say you are on the Standard tier. Your subscription renews on the 1st of every month:
  1. You change to annual billing on April 15th.
  2. The unused half of April becomes a credit since you’ve paid through April 30th.
  3. Stripe invoices the annual price on April 15th, less that credit.
  4. Afterwards, your subscription will renew on April 15th next year, and your AI credits will be granted on the 15th of each month.
If the payment does not go through, Stripe leaves you on your current tier and period until it does.

AI Credits

AI credits are consumed while using the AI chat assistant. Currently, nothing else in Klef consumes them. A workspace holds two pools of credits from which all members share:
  • Credits are consumed from the tier allowance pool first, so that members aren’t unnecessarily using purchased credits.
  • If all credits are consumed, the AI chat assistant can no longer be used. All other features are left usable.
  • Billing managers can purchase credit packs and see per-member usage over the last 30 days. For more information, see Manage billing.

Subscription States

The state shown on the billing page, and what it allows.

When a Subscription Lapses

  1. A renewal charge fails, so Stripe retries it over the next few days.
  2. The billing page shows a past-due banner and a grace period of 21 days is given.
  3. Afterwards, the workspace is locked and scheduled syncs no longer work.
See Manage billing for how to fix a failed payment.